Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Anyone else sew cards?

One of the crafty thing I enjoyed more as a kid was sewing cards. You had a set pattern to follow and the results were generally the same. You probably haven’t heard of them(I haven’t met anyone who has, except the people I’ve told about it), but there’s a website (http://www.form-a-lines.net/), where you can buy sewing instructions for all sorts of patterns. They all fit on A6 cards(they’ve got a sister website for square ones), and then off you go. There are a few more technical details than that, but not really.

Form-a-lines say that you can sell the cards, as long as you have a copyright sticker on them(also available on their website), which is just awesome!!!!

You have to punch holes into the card to sew; I use a pin and a block of foam behind the card to protect my leg. I use tri-fold cards, so I can stick one side down and cover up all the evidence of my sewing(ends of threads and selotape holding the ends down). One thing I would say is that pricking more than about 3 cards in one go really hurts your fingers, as I find that using a thimble means you don’t have the precision of the pin that you need.

So for my mum’s birthday, I’m making her a set of 10 cards, using the woodland animal set. So far I’ve managed to prick all the cards (in 3 sittings, and boy did my finger hurt after each of them), and sew two. Wanna see? Of course you do.

One of my mum's birthday cards

Isn’t the cute level, like, over the roof???

I like getting all the pricking out of the way before I start sewing, mainly because I don’t like that bit as much as the sewing. 🙂

The gold thread I use for the cards I generally buy in sewing shops (I find mine with the machine threads, but it works fine) rather than ordering it on-line and having to pay p&p.

The only place I’ve found tri-fold cards is Hobby-craft, which is irritating as we live too far away for me to be able to just pop over and get some more whenever I want, but the p&p is a little steep for me, so I have to stock up on cards whenever we do go. But I do tend to nag the parents rather a lot to go, because there is just So Much Craftiness. It really is a shop I want to live near when I move out. Also, if you buy them at Hobby-craft, they come in a pack you can use to keep them clean/give them away in(if you can bear to part with them!)

The beads I got from a shop in Plymouth, where I go to Uni. Most beads would work, as long as they aren’t too big(I think these are a verging on the big side, but they’re what I’ve got), and there are lots of bead shops on-line(haven’t seen that many in brick-and-mortar shops, which is a shame).

Well, that’s everything from me(but I am very close to finishing my first decent pair of socks, so I’ll show that to you all when I finally get around to finishing them ), so see ya!

Comments on: "Anyone else sew cards?" (2)

  1. Very clever idea!!! You might like making quilted notecards, too . . . there’s a link in this post: http://pillowsalamode.wordpress.com/2012/03/01/quilted-notecards/ It’s a great way to use up small scraps and notions, too! 🙂

    • gladeridercrafts said:

      They look really cool, thanks! I haven’t actually done any fabric craftiness, so I may have to start :). Thanks for the idea

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

