Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

The bad and the good

Well, that’s another week out of the way! What’ve I been up to? Well, unfortunately not as much crafting as I would’ve liked, as I have somehow caught Fresher’s flu :(. But that seems to be on the way out now, so hopefully next week I’ll get back into the swing of things.

Remember I told you about the colourfulness that was going to become my granddad’s bookmark last week? Well, I did a bit of work on it on Sunday, after posting about it, and then gave up in disgust. This is how far I got

I started it, and decided I didn’t like the border :/

You see, I had this AMAZING plan to sew the raw edges of aida into the back of the bookmark, so I didn’t need to keep holding them in place while I backed it. However, me not being that sensibly minded, hadn’t thought about the top right corner stitch, which immediately twisted out of shape because it wasn’t being held down properly. I don’t think you can see it that well in this pic, because if you zoom in any more it just gets blurry :(. So, does anyone else have a better idea about this? It ended up on hold because I couldn’t really be bothered to think about it. I did have a bit of a play at the other end, just to try out an idea:

So, I tried edging it like this, but I’m not sure

So that’s kinda gone into hibernation for now…if I can’t think up anything by the time everything else for Christmas has been done, I’ll have to come up with another idea- I’ve already looked at the edged aida you can buy, but it wouldn’t really work too well for this pattern, I feel. *shrugs*. I’m sure (fingers crossed!) that I’ll think up something suitable, given enough time.

So, instead of that, I’ve been working on something rather different! It only has two colours (at the moment!), and it used Kreinik blending filament, which I LOVE. I read several horror stories about it, and you do have to be careful, but the effect it so totally worth it.

The beginnings of an elephant for my aunt 🙂

I really like how the two shades of grey work so well for it all, especially with the silver blending filament. I can’t wait to finish all the Christmas presents now, so that I can think up more uses for it in all my cross stitch pieces. It’s amazing 🙂

As well as the grey threads, this uses beads for bits of it, which I’m really looking forward to too. I have to keep telling myself to slow down and finish one bit before starting the next! *fingers crossed it turns out well!*. My mum said she’d turn it into a cushion for my aunt, which’ll be nice,a s I won’t have time to down here with no sewing machine!

Well, that’s everything from me, anyone have any ideas about the bookmark??? I think after this elephant, I want to knit something. I’m being remarkably crafty monogamous lately, it must be the deadlines!

Hope you’re all feeling crafty 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ever The Crafter

Chronically ill and crafting

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

