Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Yeah, life is just a little bit hectic here at the moment. Deadlines are still falling down around me, my computer seems to be playing up( I’m getting a new one for Christmas, so it’s not as bad as it could be…).

Very little cross stitch has been happening. Seriously, since about two weeks ago (when I finished the cross stitching on my granddad’s bookmark, no stitching has been happening (until earlier this evening, at any rate), and the only knitting I was doing was for a couple of hours on Sunday (and that’s in danger of vanishing if my workload increases any more).

But, I have finished stitching my granddad’s bookmark šŸ™‚

No, I don’t know how those brownish spots appeared. I do have a feeling that they might be dinner, though…

Now all I need to do (since the beginning of November…) is wash it and back it. Not entirely sure when that’s going to happen, maybe this Saturday? I don’t think that’s taken up by anything specific yet (other than maths, and that always needs doing…)

However, this evening I was really irritated by my maths. Some of it wasn’t working properly, and the rest of it was just plain wrong. I’m blaming the laptop, (well, a program I installed on it, and I get an error message whenever I try using it, so the idea isn’t that daft šŸ™‚ ) rather than my programming skills, because I’ve gone through the code with a fine toothed comb, and it seems fine. So ?I started looking through some blogs, and found this gorgeous sock pattern. It’s supposed to be knitted cuff-down, which is why I didn’t see it when I looked for more sock patterns (the only socks I’ve succeeded at were toe-up), but having looked at the pictures, I think I should be able to do them toe-up. šŸ™‚

I saw the post on Tanis Fibre Arts(the link is here), and I think they look awesome :). Not that I need any more sock ideas at the moment, since I have yarn for 4(?) pairs, and I’m half-way through another pair. It wasn’t second sock syndrome that stopped me either, it was my butterfly bag :). Still love that :). No-one’s commented on the skulls through :/.

So I started on some more cross stitch. Yeah, I know that’s crazy- see some socks I like the look of, have some yarn here that I could use really well for it, don’t start them. I thought I’d be good. After all, I still have Christmas stitching to do. But did I carry on with the elephant? Nope, that would be too good of me (it’s still waiting for me to cut off the knots I’ve got…). So I started another keyring, this time a ginger cat. Here’s what I’ve done so far:

Going really rather well, but it’s now too dark to see šŸ˜¦

I mentioned in my (very) brief post last Saturday that I’d bought a HAED. šŸ™‚ Yes, during the 50% sale I decided to buy one. I know, I’m very good. I even intend on finishing my first one before buying another….we’ll see how well that one goes šŸ˜›

I bought the Spirit Storykeep. I don’t know how to do that nifty thing of inserting pictures with links into here yet, so here’s a link šŸ™‚

I did finish off one of the handwarmers on…I think it was the Sunday before last, but it’s kindof gone missing (my room here is rather a tip), so unfortunately there’s no picture of this either. Maybe next week, if I get a move on with the other one…

On the subject of HAEDs by the way- the pattern calls for using 2 strands of floss over 1 stitch on 25 count material. This seems like it would be a bit thick to me- I use two strands for 14 count, and that gives sensible coverage. What do other people do? One strand or two??? What do people mean when they say things like 1 over 2?

I think I vaguely remember seeing a chart of how many strands to use for different counts of material. Am I making this up? I know there’s no hard and fast rule, you use whatever gives you the best coverage, I just want to know what other people do???

Thanks for all your help solving this conundrum. Until next time, happy crafting :). And I’m off to cast on some socks šŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

