Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

How are we still in November?

Does anyone else think that November has gone on quite long enough, thank you very much? I feel like we should be about half way through December already, maybe it’s just because I’ve been concentrating on Christmas presents?

But, at any rate, this week has been much more productive, with the result that I don’t feel quite so overwhelmed by all the Uni work. Must remember to always set aside time for me, no matter how busy I feel I am. First off, I finished several keyrings:

Made a couple of Oops!, but altogether, I like it 🙂

Ended up using two shades of grey for the ‘dark grey’, as I lost the first lot, and then the second lot didn’t quite match, but I still want it!

Loved stitching this one as much as I did the first time round 🙂

Would it be really bad of me to keep the black and white one and the tortoise shell I already have? Even though it’s supposed to go to someone for a Christmas present…hmm, I wonder if I can get some more keyrings quickly…although having just added to my stash rather a lot, I really shouldn’t…oh well, I’ll just have to make myself one after Christmas, I guess. *sigh* Along with a hundred and other things I have planned…

I also finally got around to starting the beading on the elephant (go me!)

I can’t decide if I like beading or not…I think I’ve got a healthy love/hate relationship going on…

But I am sure that the effect will be worth it, it’s gonna look amazing :). Especially as I managed to get the sequins for the tassels on the edges. (Note to self- remove the gridding BEFORE stitching over it! It’s now a right pain in the arse to remove….*sigh* A few bits I’ve picked up about beading- every fifth bead, sew it in place twice. I’m also thinking that I should have starting doing them the other way around, so they lie on the same slant as the top of the cross stitch…ahh well, it look good anyway, and I’m not going to undo it all! Just something to think about in future. I’m using invisible thread to stitch them all in place, which is, imho much better than changing colour for different colour beads! Did I mention it’s gonna look awesome? 😛

I also started work on a Celtic knot, which was going to be the front cover of a needle keep (which I really kinda need here…) but…

This looks nice. So I figured it would look ever better filled in…

But of course, I’m not really thrilled with it. This is as far as I’ve gotten with it so far

and I’m really not thrilled with it. And I don’t know why. I’ll finish it, but it’ll probably get turned into something and given away, maybe a box top? Any suggestions?

So, that’s what I’ve been up to this last week. I’ve also been doing maths, but I doubt anyone’s interested in that 😛 I did think about starting a maths blog, but I figured that really, no-one would be that interested in it…

I did, however get some more stash 🙂 No piccies, because it’s all relatively boring stuff. I went to the LNS (one of them- I’ve got three!) and got another floss storage box, the sequins I need to finish the elephant tassels, and a small kit, which I’ll probably turn into a Christmas tree ornament for next year( I needed to spend more than £5, and that was the closest thing to hand!)

Yes, you twigged it- the storage box is because I ordered a load of threads for Spirit :). They haven’t arrived yet, but it should be soon…

However, I did get another parcel of loveliness that I ordered. I got a fat quarter of 25 count (again, for Spirit), so I’ll start gridding that, probably this weekend :). I also got the Kreinik to do it(I’m using blending filament rather than the #4 they suggest), some tiny needles which were advised to me since 2 over 1 on 25 count apparently fills up the holes a lot :P. I also got some beads to finish the elephant, since apparently I lost a pack 😦 But at least the elephant can now be finished 🙂 Hopefully it’ll be finished before December, as per my November aims…

Well, that’s all from me for now, hope you’re all having a good time stitching. Any tips on gridding would be appreciated…looking forward to it 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

