Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Nearly finished Frederick :)

So now I only need to finish up a couple of the books, and then all the backstitching (deep joys!)

This is where I’m up to now:

Close up of where I'm currently working

Close up of where I’m currently working

You can see that the red book in the middle still needs some more work, as does the green/blue one to the fight of that, and the white one lying down above that. Oh, and the black cross to the left of the green book needs doing in a metallic blend, which I’m going to do at the end. 🙂 Here’s another shot which shows the whole thing so far

All of Fred so far :)

All of Fred so far 🙂

There’s a LOT of backstitching needs doing- I think all the books are outlined as well as titled… yipee. And around Fred there’s some, to show off fur lines mostly I think. Ahh well, I’m hoping to get all the stitching done this weekend, and then spend as much time as possible next week just trying to get it done. Not going to be fun, but I’ll try (fingers crossed, I have no idea how insane this plan is right now… ) to have all the backstitching done by next weekend before I go up to York. Wish me luck, I’m gonna need it!

Hope you’re all doing much more fun crafty things 🙂

Comments on: "Nearly finished Frederick :)" (2)

  1. Frederick looks great! Really pops on that black fabric. Backstitching is a chore but it really brings the design to life. I also always save the backstitching til the end. I know some people do it as they go. I like saving it for last to really bring the design to life.

    • I know! I also love how it’s been done on black material. And yes, normally I would do the backstitch as I go, but this piece used lots of different types (one strand, three strands…don’t think there are any blends) so I decided to leave it to last so I don’t get too confused. Paying for it now though!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ever The Crafter

Chronically ill and crafting

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

