Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Socks socks SOCKS!

Aren’t socks wonderful things to knit? I am totally loving them at the moment. Well, that and I’m also working on a cowl for my mum’s birthday (I may be slightly ahead of myself here, it’s not until July!)

Currently I have two pairs of socks on the go, one for me, and another pair for a housemate, who spins. He gave me the yarn before Christmas! I may have gotten slightly side-tracked by Christmas and my top, and, and… well, anyway. The first sock is now finished, and wowsa it’s big!

JamessocksBig sock indeed! It’s using the Hermione’s every day sock pattern, available on ravelry, and has 72 stitches in total! I’m looking forward to starting the second one, but got slightly sidetracked by a wonderful ball of Wendy Happy lying about, which has already become this…poshsocks1It’s actually got a bit of a ribbing pattern on the top (k3 p1), but that is hiding in the sock. When I’ve turned the heel I’ll show another picture of my wearing it for you. I’m totally loving this yarn- it’s a 75/25 mix of bamboo and nylon, which it really smooth and wonderful to knit with. Just to see the difference in sizing, I’ve got a photo of this sock on top of the giant sock I made James:

sockcomparisonAnd I only have 2 more inches or thereabout before I start the heel! Massively smaller, and therefore quicker (mostly, I am using smaller needles too). I’m sure that if these socks are as smooshy to wear as they are to knit, I will be wanting lots of Wendy Happy yarn in the future for my socks, it’s divine!

And here’s a photo of my mum’s cowl:

cowlIt’s difficult to tell from this photo, but the yarn has a thread of sparkle running through. It’s an absolute dream to knit with, this yarn, too. It’s King Cole Glitz, and by smooshing it you really couldn’t tell that it’s 97% acrylic! It feels only slightly rougher than the bamboo I’m making the socks from!

Wow, I’ve been busy knitting! The only downside to which is that I haven’t done any cross stitch. But hey ho, I craft because I want to, so it’s all good. After all, who can be sad with hand-knit socks? Have you knit any socks recently?

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

