Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Well, I have been busy this week. I’ve finished a hat and handwarmer set (available for free on knitty, or ravelry). I actually finished them on Wednesday, but the knitting was done by Monday. I just needed to wait to pop into town to look for buttons. I have another 4 of these buttons, which will go on a kindle cover I’m planing on knitting in the same yarn and pattern. Matching accessories for the win!

Digital StillCameraDigital StillCamera

 

You can also see the finished cowl now, as I’ve borrowed a friend’s camera. Unfortunately, I’m going to have to keep borrowing her’s until summer, but hey ho. The cowl is really snuggly, it’s wonderful πŸ™‚ Rather than open it up to show you how large it is (it’s big. I think it ended up about 15 inches high!), I’ve just taken a photo of it neatly folded. It shows off the smooshiness and sparkliness better, I feel

Digital StillCamera

I also finished a sock! Go me!

Digital StillCameraI’ve already started the next one, but since there isn’t much more than the toe at the moment, I didn’t bother taking a picture of that.

Although there has been more plain sock knitting going on πŸ™‚

Digital StillCameraPlease excuse the maths underneath it, I was alternating between the two today πŸ™‚ Given that I’ve nearly finished turning the heel after 1 day, I think we can all guess how much maths was actually going on… πŸ˜›

 

There’s also been some swatch knitting going on. This yarn is Rowan tweed aran, which is wonderful to knit with, very snooshy πŸ™‚ I’m slightly surprised just how loose my tension is- the pattern (Tempting, available on knitty) calls for 5.5mm needles, and I’m very slightly loose on 4mm! But hey ho, whatever works. The only thing I dislike about this yarn is how bad it smells while washing! But it’s totally worth it for the yarn πŸ™‚

That brings me onto the (slightly naughty) stash enhancement which has been going on up here. Firstly, there was a skein of laceweight which I’m going to double up to make a Glitz shawl (available on knitty). Now, that of course means I need the beads to go with it, so I ordered those online. I’m looking forward to getting them (isn’t getting post such fun?), but that does mean there isn’t a picture of them yet. Unfortunately, I probably won’t start it anytime soon, anyway, just because I’ve got so much other stuff I want to make!

I also bought some more sock yarn whilst in town on Wednesday. I know, I really didn’t need to, but I walked into a yarn shop and it jumped at me and refused to let go. I’m thinking just a pair of plain socks in this, or maybe the jaywalker pattern that everyone loves…I’m thinking vanilla.

I did also order a set of nova 4mm tips for Tempting, and since paying postage for just a pair of knitting needles is silly, I also ordered another ball of sock yarn from that website too πŸ™‚ Socks forever πŸ™‚

The only downside I can see to all this knitting loveliness is that the cross stitching is suffering 😦 I can’t remember the last time I picked up a sewing needle, which is a bit of a shame…then I look at all the lovely things I’m knitting and feel better. If only it didn’t take so long to start! Maybe it’s something to concentrate on next week.

What stash enhancement have you done recently?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

