Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Well, this post isn’t late because the internet is being slow, but rather because I was busy yesterday until late, so I had a lie in this morning πŸ™‚

Yesterday, I went to a science fiction and fantasy convention in London called loncon 3. I had loads of fun (there were even some maths things, so I was technically working yesterday too!) The most amazing part of it was the fact that there was a stall selling yarn there! I was dead impressed, and natrually had to buy some πŸ™‚

lonconstash

I have a skein of sock yarn (wool, silk and linen which makes gorgeously crisp cables which stay well defined even after washing), and a skein of lace-weight (600m pure wool) which will become a smallish shawl:)

Another reason this post was delayed was that I needed to do my hand-washing. Usually I do about 4 pairs of socks at a ti0me, so I can move them around on the towel a bit, but I got a bit behind recently… so I washed 7 pairs today (and I’m wearing my 8th, so times are desperate)! Here’s hoping they dry by tonight so I can sleep on my bed…

 

washdayOn the sock front… I’ve finished the first sock, and done quite a lot on the second- the heel is turned, and I’m racing down to the front of the foot so I can finish it quickly and have 9 pairs of socks to wear! No pic on these (I haven’t unpacked all my backpack yet from the train ride to loncon) but the spirals on these are going the opposite away. Hopefully they’ll be finished by next week!

I did finish July’s block with the fishes:

OUAT17

and I’ve started August’s, so here’s a bit of a clue (if you can figure out what it is!)

OUAT18

It’s going to be a tower of animals- a rooster on a cat on a dog on a donkey! These are the four OAPs who are moving to the retirement village! It’s designed for retired animals who worked on a farm, which I think is a lovely idea! There’s an actual statue of them in the town which is named in the fairy tale, and apparently touching the donkey’s front hooves gives you good luck! (picture from wikipedia)

animalsIt really does seem strange, the idea that a rooster, a cat and a dog could get on this well, but then I suppose it is a fairy tale! (If anyone has any more of a clue than last time, feel free to post suggestions here or on the previous post). Next week I may explain how the four animals confused the robbers whose house they took over!

Comments on: "Stash enhancement and some more clues for August!" (6)

  1. Wow, in particular to your lovely July block. Looking forward to seeing August’s. Oh and by the way, if there’s a burglary at your home and the only thing stolen is that delicious green yarn, then it was me, OK? Hope you understand…

  2. how did the stall of yarn get to sell in the science friction convention? lol.. really interesting to see that.. and love the colours you got. the purple is so soft.. Guess that the Aug block will be Old MacDonald? maybe I wrong. heehee..

    • I think because they were selling naturally dyed and historically accurate spindles and things. And no, it’s not Old Macdonald, but interest guess. There are more clues in last week’s post!

  3. I would have loved to have gone to Loncon, I heard about it but couldn’t go unfortunately so I hope you had a great day. Really unusual to find a yarn stall somewhere like that so what a find! Your July block looks so cute, Thumbelina is adorable! I have never actually read this fairytale (if it’s the one I’m thinking of), but have seen a similar statue of it, is it Town musician’s of Bremen? πŸ™‚

  4. […] I would give some more clues about the August block (you can find the first clues here and second here). So this time, I was going to talk about how the animals inherited their house where they ended up […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ever The Crafter

Chronically ill and crafting

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

