Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Ok, so last weekend my needle was on fire! (Not literally, but I did soo much cross stitch!) So, rather than give you some more clues for this month’s fairly tale (first lot can be found here) I’ll be showing what I’ve done so far for this months block (bear in mind that I onlt had about 2 hours to work on it on Sunday, as I had to catch my train to Cardiff!)

OUAT20All that is left for me to do is another cloud just above the trees, and then I’ll spend the rest of the weekend doing some more on the border 🙂 I don’t want to get too far, just in case I miscount and have to frog lots, but I think I can get away with maybe going halfway down the next (and last) set of squares. I’m going to miss this when it’s done, but I’m not yet convinced that I want to do next years… too much other awesome stuff that I’m doing has been pushed to the back burner for it. I’ll wait and see after I find out what next years design theme will be.

So, then I had to go to Cardiff for a conference, and rather than take my cross stitch (which requires needles and scissors and all sorts) I decided to take some yarn and cast on for a new pair of socks.

Cardiff

So this is what I did, mostly on the train down there (it’s a 5 hour train ride!) By the time I arrived I was just about to start the short rows for the heel, which I thought was fairly impressive, and made me very glad that I’d brought both balls of yarn with me! However, after that I didn’t have much time to work on the socks at all (all the talks were too interesting for me to sit and listen and knit to, I wanted to take notes!) and on the way back I was too tired to do much knitting at all! So in the end I’ve only done this much, which is still rather good I think. This yarn (it’s just a standard regia) is so very smooshy! I have no idea what the difference is between this yarn and any of the other sock yarn I’ve sued from them before, but there is a very big difference in how nice it is! I am certainly very tempted to get more of this yarn, when I’ve used up the stash some more *sighs* I’ll be good!

Unfortunately, that is the last of my crafting for the week, after getting back to York I spent much of the next day asleep, and then trying to catch up from all the time I wasn’t working! Hopefully this week will be better craft-wise.

Comments on: "[Insert interesting and witty title here]" (4)

  1. I’ve literally just realised what the fairytale is this month (or at least what I think it is). Is it rapunzel? I was way off with the Brave! haha. I think getting more of that yarn is a must, it is gorgeous, so bright and cheery. I love long train journey’s just so there is a good chunk of crafting time, sounds like you put it to good use! 🙂

  2. I love your monthly cross-stitch. And the sock looks gorgeous in that yarn.
    So many crafts, so little time….. *sigh*

  3. okie.. i think is rapunzel (well Disney version will be tangled?) this month.. LOL.. i may be wrong again.. ?? maybe i need to go back and learn all the fairy tales.. heehee

  4. […] also made a start on actually knitting socks. I had a pair on the needles (back from September) which I have now finished, so here they […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

