Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Don’t get me wrong, I love it. But there are definitely things to remember for my next attempt (or rather, the one after that as I’ve already started my next one…)

  • Look at the finished sweater size, not just how big it’s supposed to be. Mine feels very tight, particularly under the arms. I think it’s because my colourwork basically has no give whatsoever, and so I should’ve gone up an(other) needle size for it.
  • Think about all the different techniques in the jumper. Just because my stocking stitch one colour gauge is telling me one thing, I certainly shouldn’t take it as gospel for the whole sweater! Particularly colour-work, I *need* to go up at least one needle size. At some pointβ„’ I’m going to check whether one needle size does it, or I should do a standard 2 needles now…
  • Stocking stitch (particularly in the round) is boring. It still needs doing. My jumper is (quite) a bit on the short side, so looks a bit strange when paired with a long top. I may get around to frogging the ribbing, and adding some length, but it’ll take a while to get around to it.
  • I need to get better at darning in ends. I’ve had a couple of ends come loose on me, and one of them was a ridiculously short thing I had to tie (shock horror!) It might have split from somewhere (we are talking about galaxy after all!) but still… Next time darn in for longer. Much longer!

I think that’s everything! Not bad really, I think. Does anyone else have any words of wisdom about sweater making to share?

So, on to what else I’ve been up to. I mentioned last week that I want to knit lots of socks this month, and therefore I needed to go yarn shopping. Well, that was a resounding success! I have an extra 6 pairs of socks worth of yarn, and I can’t wait to get started πŸ™‚

We have:

IMGP0113IMGP0110IMGP0112

IMGP0115IMGP0114IMGP0111

 

I’ve also made a start on actually knitting socks. I had a pair on the needles (back from September) which I have now finished, so here they are

Cardiff2And, naturally, I have cast on my next pair of socks. I got this yarn back in August(!) when I was at Loncon, and I’m only now getting around to knitting it πŸ™‚

Because this yarn has such awesome stitch definition, the obvious choice is something with cables (or rather, mock cables, this is a sock after all!) so I’m doing this pattern (ravelry link)

IMGP0116There isn’t really anything much to see so far, there are only a couple of rows after the toe…

And finally, we’re now in December, and therefore the latest (and last!) block for the OUAT SAL has come out. So, for the last time, have some clues for what is going on (I’ll probably wrap this up earlier than usual, so I can figure out who gets the giveaway stuff and sort all that out while I’m in Salisbury and can raid the much better shops there!)

So, December’s fairy tale

It’s a Brother’s Grim story (and yes, it is just dark and depressing… it includes cannibalism…), and has also been converted into an opera and a stop-motion film.

As ever, the wicked step-mother is intent on being, well, wicked, despite her husband’s wishes to not abandon his family.

Let’s see how you get on with that…

Oh oh oh, I nearly forgot… Polo got nominated for the One Lovely Blogger Award (totally justified, everyone should go over there and check out the blog πŸ™‚ )

And then they nominated me! I was totally floored by this, I just generally see these as excuses to look up other blogs I might find interesting, so when I absent-mindedly clicked on the links, I was rather surprised to see my own blog… that’ll teach me to read links before clicking on them! But anyway, I am so incredibly grateful for this (thanks ever so much, Polo)!

So here are the rules of the One Lovely Blog Award:

  1. Thank and link back to the person who nominated you
  2. List the rules and display the award
  3. Include seven facts about yourself
  4. Nominate around 10-15 other bloggers and let them know about the award (their About page is a good place!)
  5. Follow the blogger who nominated you, if not already. (Optional!)

So here’s the award picture:

screen-shot-2014-08-31-at-5-04-16-pm

Hmm, 7 facts about myself

  1. I dislike fuss being made over me, particularly for my birthday. In fact, I regularly tell people that it’s on the 31st June, and laugh insanely until they realise that June only has 30 days (it’s ridiculously funny!)
  2. Whenever I read a book, my mind gets inundated with crafty things I want to make inspired by that book. I really want to figure out how to live on less sleep, so that I actually have a chance to do half of them!
  3. I’m studying for a PhD in mathematics. This frequently leads to arguments between my maths side and my crafty side, about which one is more important (hint: it’s the one that’s going to provide me with a paycheck…the maths). My crafty side responds by insisting I get on with something (usually socks).
  4. I love knitting socks. I’ve currently got 11 pairs I regularly wear, and clearly this isn’t enough (you may have noticed all that sock yarn I’ve just bought…)
  5. Next year I’ll be moving out of my current student house and into a flat with just one other student. I’m *really* looking forward to this, as although I’ll only have a tiny bedroom, it’s fine because the sitting room is masquerading as my office, and I’ll have a chest of drawers just for my crafty things. This is a step up from crates under my bed. It’s almost like having my own crafty room!
  6. I also like knitted hand warmers. I’ve got 3 pairs on my table next to me, in case my hands get cold (not likely, this jumper of mine is WARM!)
  7. I regularly bite off more than I can (or really should) chew! I’m doing another 2 pairs of socks this month, and I’ve got my OUAT sampler to finish, and my Stained Glass to catch up on, and, and, and… I love it πŸ™‚ It’s definitely better to be busy than bored! However, I do wish that I could finish more! (Probably a common problem…and really, I’ve finished my jumper, and a pair of socks in pretty much a week, I can’t complain!)

 

I’m not going to nominate any other bloggers- I realised the other day that these are basically a pyramid scheme, and that meant I don’t feel too guilty about it, and right now I’m up to my eyeballs in work (end of term has just hit) and I can’t spend the time (unfortunately) to really think about my choices so I’m just not going to try (the blog has to be the first thing to suffer when life gets busy!)

So, on that rather disappointing end, I’m off to cook a turkey!

 

 

 

Comments on: "What I’ve learned from my sweater" (5)

  1. cosmoandknits said:

    No words of wisdom from me but as I’m sure thinking about embarking on my first sweater this was a really useful read. Thank you.

  2. Thank you for doing the seven things part! I do enjoy reading facts about people. I know it’s basically a pyramid scheme and don’t mind if other people don’t do it, but I basically used it as an excuse to show off my favourite bloggers. πŸ™‚

  3. I like that you made a list of things you’ve learned from the sweater project! I always intend to do that when I finish something but sometimes don’t follow through. It’ll save you heartache down the road!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ever The Crafter

Chronically ill and crafting

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

