Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

It’s alright to fail!

So, after the 12 hours I spent on a train on Monday and Tuesday, I thought that I had a pretty good handle on the sock situation (remember that I need to knit 2 pairs this month to make 12 pairs this year…), and then realised that I still have an entire pair of socks, and half of my current pair to knit. So, I guess that’s doable, after all there will probably be many hours sitting around watching tv over Christmas (and my last pair will probably be vanilla…no need to tempt fate, eh?). Anyway, here is my foot modelling the finished sock.

worksocks

At the same time, I’d quite like to finish my OUAT sampler this year. This is almost certainly not going to happen…I’m catching the train to Salisbury on Thursday morning, and I need to clean the house and pack before I go, so I’m not sure how long I’ll have to stitch on Wednesday. I have, however, finished November’s block (Little Red Riding Hood, if anyone has forgotten!), and all the border, so all that is left is December’s block.

OUAT24And the title and year, but they’re so small they don’t seem to count, somehow… I know, logically, that this is not going to be finished before I go home, which means it’s not going to be finished until next year. I just have to keep reminding myself that this is ok, that I don’t need to finish it before I go home. That this self-imposed deadline is not important, and getting a decent nights sleep before I go home is! Does anyone else ever get like this? Any ideas for reminding myself that it really isn’t important?

Comments on: "It’s alright to fail!" (7)

  1. I’m no help because I am very good about setting arbitrary deadlines for myself. Or starting Christmas present right before Christmas. Good luck with your deadlines though!

  2. I get like this – then I look at my TUSAL jar and it makes me happy. I achieved a lot this year, and really, so did you!

  3. Oh yes, I understand why it matters. But really, it doesn’t. The important thing is that it will be finished, and it will be wonderful.
    (And that’s one lovely-looking sock, by the way.)

  4. It is so easy to get caught up on what you haven’t finished, instead of seeing all of the beautiful projects you have completed. But high fives to you, for 90% of that sampler done!

  5. A great looking sock, and foot with said sock!

  6. I don’t have any advice for getting over the feeling of guilt but I get the exact same way. I set these goals for myself and it’s hard not to feel like you’ve failed, even if there’s no real reason for the deadline. But just get them done on your own time and don’t feel bad about it!

  7. ohhhh.. don’t worry.. you are doing well and fine.. if it makes you feel any better.. i just bough the pattern.. so technically I’m 12 months behind you.. eek

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

