Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Hello February!

So, one month of the year has been and gone. While I am trying to be more organised (my word of the year, if anyone has forgotten), it’s really quite hard work. So far, all I’ve really managed to do is a meal plan, which makes food shopping much easier 🙂

I bought a weekly plan from paperchase at the start of the year- this is what it looks like

weeklyplanAs well as my meal plan, it’s got any important appointments for the week, as well as a section for general notes. It’s quite useful, but I’m still getting to grips with having 3 different calenders (online one with most of my Uni appointments, a small paper one for out and about appointments, and my weekly planner.) Now that I’ve got to grips with this, in February, I’m going to start organising my craft stash. It’s going to take more than a month (I’m not sure how I’ll be doing it yet…), but I can at least make a start. How do other people organise their stash? I don’t particularly want to use ravelry for my yarn, but I might end up using it anyway. Are there similar things for different crafts? I’ve got cross stitch stuff to organise, and a bit of fabric as well. Any tips would be wonderful 🙂

I haven’t done much this week in the way of actual crafts, my PhD work at York kept me busy, but I did win another award! Yay me! Carolyn recently won the Versatile Blog award, and was kind enough to include me in the list of nominated blogs! Thanks Carolyn!

The rules of the award are:

  1. Show the award on your blog
  2. Thank the person who nominated you
  3. Share seven facts about yourself
  4. Nominate 15 blogs
  5. Link your nominees blogs and let them know

versatile-blogger-awardIt will also be going on the strip down the right of this blog (the sidebar?), along with my other awards.

Seven facts about myself… I’ll try to keep them different from the other facts I’ve done, but no promises!

1. I get distracted easily. I have some blocks on my laptop to limit what websites I can access at times (no hotmail, facebook, etc during work time) otherwise I would never get anything done, as I much prefer looking for inspiration than doing my work. Slippery slope! This is why I don’t have a pintrest account,but as I can also limit my time on any particular website, it might be an idea.

2. I want to do any craft I see. And more really, but after seeing any craft being done, I want to give it a try. I refuse to try spinning (again), it’s too long winded. Although then I see other people spinning, or the gorgeous fibre you can get, and I want to try it. *sighs*. Everything else, I’m completely game for.

3. I hate my imagination sometimes. I swear, I could forget half the things I want to make, and still have enough plans to last me 10 years, or more. Ahh well, it’s easier to just get on making things than moaning about it!

4. It takes me a while to get into things. After I started this blog, it took a long time before I branched out into commenting on other peoples blogs. The same thing happened at York, when I came up here to do my PhD. Now that I’ve been here a while, I go to events- knitsoc and jugglesoc which I didn’t go to in my first year.

5. I name things. My future dressmakers dummy will be called Susan, and my embroidery hoop on its stand is called Lark. Also, my bike is called 21st century horse 😛

6. Every time I read a book, I get inundated with inspiration for fanart for that book. (See 3 and 4). I’m currently working on knitting a pair of socks for all the main characters for a book called Sugar Glass. So far I’ve done the main character, and I’m now working on her girlfriend’s pair. It’s a good book 🙂

7. Rather than have New Year Resolutions, I decided to do something similar for my birthday. Because I am now 22, I wrote a list of ’23 things before 23′, of 23 things I want to do before I turn 23.

 

As before, I’m not going to nominate any other bloggers. Everyone I follow I would love to nominate, so rather than nominate a set number, if anyone else would like to carry this on, I would love to read about it 🙂

Right, that’s all from me. I’m off to do some more thinking about a secret project, and then maybe think about organising my stash 🙂

 

Comments on: "Hello February!" (11)

  1. Glad you go onto a menu plan – itll make organisation so much easier! And 21st centiry bike made me giggle 😛

  2. creative pixie said:

    Congrats on the award. I enjoyed reading your facts, i didn’t know you could set blocks on certain websites during certain times of the day. You’re probably very wise not to be on Pinterest as it’s easy to lose hours on it. Like yourself I’m into all sorts of crafts and am struggling to organise it all. I think a rip to IKEA may be required to house my addiction 🙂

    • I use a firefox add-on called leechblock to do all my controlling. I use firefox for my general internet, and chrome for my Uni stuff, so it all stays nicely separated 🙂

  3. I will be organizing my stash this month too. Physically I use plastic carts and bins to hold it. But when I need to find something I end up rummaging through everything because there’s no rhyme or reason. I will endeavor to arrange it by weight this time. And then by color. I have it all in an excel spread sheet by weight, brand, color. I have the yardage, gauge, and # of skeins all documented. That way i can look up any weight and see what I have if I find a pattern I like. It was labor intensive to create, but now it’s easy to amend.

  4. I had to smile when I read “I want to do any craft I see”! I’m in my late 50s and have, all my whole life, wanted to do every craft I’ve seen. I’ve done a lot of them, too!

  5. I had to promise Si that I would not take up quilting. The room for stash needed was taken up with kids! Maybe when they move out for good? Only 15 years or so to go 🙂

  6. Your menu plan sounds great. I would do one but then I’m not that organized or motivated. I’m glad your happy with your award. I love getting to know you. Your bike name is funny one. I like how you set up your nominations. Nice job.

    How do I store my stitching/craft supplies. That will make for a good post. I will take pics and then post to my blog next week.

  7. I’m not good at getting, or especially staying, organized. I have made a spreadsheet for yarn, and I photograph fabric and put it in a “my fabrics” folder on my computer.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ever The Crafter

Chronically ill and crafting

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

