Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

So, I’ve finished another pair of socks! I think I’ve lost count of the number of pairs of socks I own, but hey, the more the merrier, right?

Roansocks2I mostly used my vanilla pattern, but I decided to add a small amount of decoration with purl stitches in a diamond pattern. Here’s a closeup so you can see.

Roansocks3

It’s very subtle, which is strangely nice for a change! Most of my socks are either vanilla, or strongly patterned, so having a subtle pattern is definitely something a bit different.

Now onto the other news! In a couple of weeks, I’m heading to Oxford for a conference. While I will be taking my Christmas presents to work on, I also want to have a knitting project in case I need something easier for poor little introverted me! I have two skeins of this in my stash (bought the last time I was in Oxford, in case you were wondering why I wasn’t going to be taking socks!). It is 100% llama, 220m per 100g (I have 200g). I’m currently thinking a nice hat/cowl set, either for me or maybe going in a gift pile.

stash (2)

The hat choice was easy- ever since seeing this cabled hat with short rows come up on knitty, I’ve wanted to make it. The cowl part was a bit more challenging- I knew I wanted to knit it around the neck and shoulders, rather than up, and it took a while to find a nice pattern. Eventually, I found this one, but I’m still not 100% sure… I don’t even know what it is about this pattern that I don’t like. *shrugs* I’m strange, I guess!

I’m also hard at work behind the scenes working on my Christmas presents. I’m calling Dec 1st my must-be-done-by date, as some of them need to be posted out, and I’d rather they arrive early than late! Ideally however, I’d like to be done by the end of October (3 months away, eek!), so that I can take part in NaNo again in some form (I have a cardigan in 4ply, a jumper in aran and a cross stitch as current options…), which means I need to complete 6 things a month, for a total of 18. So far 1 is finished which doesn’t exactly bode well since I’ve had them ready for more than a week so far I think. Ahh well, better step up my game I guess! I’m hoping that keeping a record here will keep me accountable, even though I can’t show pics yet (and I must remember to start taking pics so I can show you the process later!).

Comments on: "More socks! And other news" (6)

  1. Definitely the more the merrier! πŸ™‚

  2. You can never have too many pairs of socks! I love the colours on yours, they look really comfy.

  3. Nice socks! You’re definitely scaring me, I’m sure I’m already too short of time to make all the Christmas presents but sticking my head in the sand about working out if I am.

    • There are currently 17 weeks till December 1st, which is my cut off for posting date. Obviously, that may vary based on where you are!

      • Thank you. Knowing it’s 17 weeks is prompting me work out what I can and can’t fit in. Thankfully for me (hopefully) only one to post abroad this year and not too many in the UK.

  4. Funny, I was just thinking about starting my Christmas knitting…and I’d love to make socks for all πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

