Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Another blanket!

So, now I’ve finished one stripe of my blanket, I decided it was an excellent time to get out another one I have the yarn for. It’s a Dick Bruna pattern (so very bright!), for my cousin, who had a baby this summer (I cross stitched the ‘love is‘ for her, remember?). Unfortunately, this pattern was photocopied in black and white, and so the whole ‘use the colours shown in the charts’ thing kinda doesn’t work… I found a picture of it online though, so this is pretty much what it’s going to look like

DickBrunaThe pattern calls for you to knit the thing in squares and sew it together…however, I know me! Instead, I’m knitting it in stripes, and then I’ll sew the stripes together. So far I’ve finished up to and including the ‘k’ from the first column, but it doesn’t look particularly impressive yet (it hasn’t been backstitched!), but I’ll try and get a photo of it for the next blog post. I’m kinda hoping this will get done by Christmas…but we’ll have to wait and see I think for that!

Comments on: "Another blanket!" (9)

  1. Cute. Know what you mean, I’d be knitting in stripes too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. OMG.. this is sooooooo cute.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. That’s a lot of work! Christmas is so very near! Good luck!!

  4. Ian Grant said:

    Are you able to send a copy of this knitting pattern? We have two of these blankets knitted by our grandma – and we’d love to knit them again for new grandchildren.

    • Hi,
      I don’t feel comfortable doing this, since it was a pattern which was paid for originally(that, and I think another photocopying would obliterate it). If you’re an experienced knitter, it shouldn’t be too hard to reverse-engineer, otherwise try making one up! There are lots of knitting charts available for free use, so all you’d need to do is find a nice one for each letter (about the same size!) and then go for it!

      • We would be happy to pay for it – do you know where we can get a paid copy of it?

      • The first four squares were published in Family Circle, January 1988, and they continued publishing 4 squares each month up to July, when they published the last two alphabet letters, the blank squares and how to finish it all.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

