Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

I was asked a curious question today (don’t worry, crafts will come soon enough, and I promise to not drown this blog in maths stuff!). I was asked whether or not I was still happy that I’d decided to do a PhD, and was I still happy that I’d decided to do it at York. The answer to both of these is unequivocally yes, and while my future is still scary and un-defined (job applications are really awkward!), getting to this point is amazing, and I love it.

 

Anyway, on to the crafting! Most of the time, I’ve been working on my housemate’s birthday present, and I have 9 squares finished

Tom2and a 10th nearly finished. I have also decided on my next blanket (when all the other presents planned so far are finished!).

One of my friends recently got a job, which is amazing, and so naturally I decided that she deserves the next blanket I make 🙂 I sent her attic24s washing line of colour palettes to see what she liked, and then narrowed it down to the Harmony blanket, which I sent her a pic of to confirm that she likes it. She does, and I can’t figure whether she’s oblivious about the fact I’m going to make her one, or whether she realises I’m going to make it, but is playing dumb, so I get to feel amazing about it all 😀

Either way, I can’t wait to get on with it 😀 However, my shoulder has really started playing up, so I’m trying to limit the amount of time I spent crocheting :/ This is rather difficult to do, since it takes less than a row to upset it on the longer rows. *sigh* I’m going to start yoga again to try and deal with it, but it feels different to the crunchiness which was sorted by yoga last time. Any tips, lovely people???

Comments on: "Intermittent blog posts the first" (5)

  1. My shoulder plays up a bit too, my advice would be to find a good massage therapist. Your blanket looks lovely so far-I daren’t attempt anything so big! 😊

  2. a physio session or two might help…mine helped with changing up my wrist action when I stitch.

  3. That current pattern looks a lot like a quilt pattern–I love the colors! And I think you should go to a physical therapist for your shoulder–they could teach you exercises to strengthen and protect the joint.

  4. Good luck with the studies & the job! I’d hire you 🙂

  5. wow… these crocheted squares looks magnificent and i love the colour combi..
    excellent work.. can’t wait to see how you piece them up

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

