Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

So, first up are the socks that I didn’t get around to photographing the first time 🙂 They’re more Hermione every day socks, done toe up because I like it that way, and although I haven’t yet darned the ends in…(I couldn’t at the time because my darning needle was in storage for the summer because I am a muppet…), but they’ve very comfy. One is just a tad too short (that’s what comes of having appreciably different sized feet and forgetting about it at the crucial point!), but I fully expect that they will stretch enough to fit nicely 🙂

socksI’ve also now started crocheting the blanket for my friend. I am loving it so very much- when I make things for other people, I try to make a point of thinking of all the things that make me think of them, and going back through old memories is great- there’s this one memory of us sitting in the library at the school we went to together, and then a teacher comes in and starts a conversation about exams, and my friend suddenly apologises for swearing, because she considers exams and essays and homework to be swear words. Still does as a matter of fact 🙂 So here is what I have done so far

sami1

There’s still a long way to go- each of those piles is 9 squares, and in total I need to make 14 piles, and then crochet them all together, but I’ve got a routine down fairly well now- I make the first one following the pattern instructions for the colours, then I can make the other 8 without looking at the pattern, just looking at the finished square 🙂 My bag is slightly too small to comfortably fit 5 balls of yarn in, but they all get in squashed, and when I finish with any colour I throw it back in the mesh bag (the yarn came from wool warehouse 🙂 ). The blanket is the Harmony blanket, from attic24, and I just love her stuff 🙂 I want to do most of her blankets at some point, they’re all so lovely 🙂

Right, I’m off to crochet until a suitable time to get the hoover out…

Comments on: "Blanket, and some more socks" (2)

  1. The coloration of the socks is very pretty. I like Attic 24’s ripple crochet blanket. I completed one granny square blanket but I stalled and it took me years. Yours is progressing nicely.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

