Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

I’ll be home by Christmas

Well, given how quickly the presents are coming along, I’ll be home and dry long before Christmas! As of today, there are exactly three weeks until Christmas, and I have two Christmas presents still to go. Yarn and patterns have been chosen, all that is left is to actually start making them!

My pen-pal’s cushion has been finished and posted off to her! Woot! I finished just in time(it was sewn up on Thursday just before getting wrapped and posted!)

cushioncushion2

The pattern for the flowers(free on ravelry) was really clearly written, but I’m never doing it again! It was very tricky, and involved crocheting into the loops left behind from crocheting in the front loop of 5 stitches for one round… But I am glad that I tried it, and the effect really is worth it! I also learnt that I dislike large granny squares! So I’m never going to crochet a large granny square blanket, even if I like the final effect of it.

The scarf for my aunt has also been finished, but as is the way with lace knitting, currently looks rather unappealing! Although I did try it on, and decided that I may make one for myself next year! I love it, even though I dislike scarves in general. This is small enough that I think I like it anyway! The fact that it’s made from lace weight might have something to do with that!

christine3christine4

I have also chosen the patterns for the last two presents: catbutt coasters and a hat. In fact, I’m so on top of my Christmas knitting, I’ve gone back to working on my scrappy blanket! I had forgotten how much fun it is to knit this thing, although I’m sure soon enough that I’ll be bored of it! (It should perhaps be noted here that the final two presents are not a surprise, and therefore do not need to be finished by the time I go home for Christmas!)

scrappy3

So how is your Christmas crafting coming along? Happily, or are you starting to think that you should maybe have started sooner?

Comments on: "I’ll be home by Christmas" (1)

  1. Every year I wish I’d started earlier!Well done on your makes so far:)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

