Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Sock, err, Monday

So I had this amazing idea to have a Sock Sunday post, where I talk about the socks I’m currently knitting, but then yesterday I got sidetracked with a picnic which only ended at half 9, so you’re getting a Sock Monday post instead!

I currently have 2 pairs of socks on the needles…*whistles innocently*. It was completely accidental, I swear!

So I’ve had these socks started for a while

I’m using a pattern from ‘Socktopus’, a book with 17 patterns in (well, 16 and a vanilla pattern). The pattern is technically top down, but I’m just following the pattern toe up instead. I’m using an afterthought heel as well. It took a while to figure out what the chart was telling me about the leg chart (no written instructions, just a chart…), but I managed to figure it, so it’s full steam ahead now.

Then the other day I agreed to test knit a sock pattern with contrasting toe/heel ribbing, so I have a second sock on a different needle. Meet my blue-tit socks:

These are temprarily on hold while the designer works out some kinks about the heel, but so far it’s been fun knitting a different pattern.

I clearly need to get more sock knitting needles (and project bags…)! Having multiple pairs of socks on the go is such fun!

Comments on: "Sock, err, Monday" (5)

  1. Gorgeous socks! I’m working on a patterned sock, it just adds to them. I do like a good old plain sock pattern as well so you can just switch off. Totally love the colours you are using.

    • I seem to be having a thing for blue/turquoise yarns at the moment, which si fun 🙂 And yes I do like the brainlessness of vanilla socks, but they do get a bit boring to wear all the time!

  2. Looking good. Particularly like the Socktopus one. I’ve seem the cover of that book – and like the look of it. Is it as good when you get inside?

    • Umm, I’m not that big a fan of it. I’ve only tried knitting this one pattern, but the lack of written instructions is really annoying. I also dislike that all (but two, having a closer look through it) the patterns are cuff-down, but that’s purely personal preference…There are some interesting heels in it, they aren’t all short row/gusset.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

