Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

And  a question.

But first, about the cardigan. I’ve been getting on well with it (it’s too hot to knit the main project in the sitting room, so this has been getting some love).

I’ve nearly finished the left side, so I figured that finding buttons would be good before the project stalls as I can’t knit the buttonholes before I know what buttons I’ve got. That combined with heading into town made an excellent excuse to pop into Franklins. Lovely shop 🙂

So I settled on these buttons (so bright and colourful!)

The problem is that they are a bit too big for the button band. While I was there, my mum suggested that I just knit the button band on the other side a bit bigger, since this buttonband would be hidden…which it will be, but I’ve also knitted up the neckline and that won’t be hidden. *facepalm*. So now what I’m thinking (and the question is: does this plan make sense???) is that I have three options.

Option 1. IF the buttons fit on a 3 stitch buttonhole (I’m planning a straightforward cast-off/cast-on buttonhole), then I can increase the buttonband to 4 stitches (it’s 3 on the pattern), and then use 2 of those stitches and 1 from the main body to make the buttonhole, and then on the first decrease at the neck edge get rid of the extra stitch in the buttonband.

Option 2. Knit vertical buttonholes. I’ve never tried this before, but I can’t imagine it being too bad- actually, this might be a right pain because of the colourings of the yarn. Maybe not this one then…

Option 3. My mum has to go to Southampton soon(ish) to find an outfit for my sister’s wedding. If I go with her, I can look through a bigger button selection in the John Lewis there. Alternatively, when I go back to York for my viva (very excited!!!!!!), I can have a trawl through the button shop up there.

So, what does everyone else think? Any other options I should think about?

Comments on: "WIP Thursday- cardigan edition" (7)

  1. Those buttons are gorgeous! Would it work to knit the other button band just as an edging (with no button holes) and then make loops to book onto the buttons, like you’d have on a duffel coat? Hope that makes sense!!

  2. I think the first option is best. Also, those buttons are adorable!

  3. Hope you find a solution that works, your buttons are cute. I’m on a bit of a craft buying ban so I’d go with option 3 so I can enjoy seeing your craft purchases!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

