Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

As promised, here is my current scrappy project- a pillowcase. In winter, I find that my pillowcase can feel rather cold, which I just chalked up to being me and didn’t really think too much of it. Then I ended up sleeping on my poncho once and loved it. So I started a small scrappy project which I will sew onto a pillowcase so that in winter I can sleep on wool rather than cotton and feel better about life in general. (Disclaimer: this one is actually destined to a friend, I get the second one…)

So I’ve finally made it wide enough, and so can concentrate on going up (I think another 5 rows should do it, but we’ll have to wait and see)

(I also actually prefer going sideways on this thing so I think I’m going to add another row and turn it around so what is currently the right side on this picture becomes the top to add more rows onto.)

I also promised a look at the bag of scraps I have on Friday.

I’m trying a system of 1 in 1 out, so everytime I add a new ball into the mix I knit until another ball gets used up. The problem with that is that I’m using up the small balls without really making any progress. So I’ve also decided that knitting random squares at off times from the larger ends is completely fine (Some of you may realise that the big ball by itself is from my fish socks, which does indeed mean that I have finished them. Photos on Friday 😉 )

Who here does scrappy projects? How do you manage to keep the number of ball ends under control??? Any tips to share? Do you go for approximate number of squares, or number of balls or some other system? Or jsut not worry about it and if you run out you knit some other things?

Comments on: "WIP Wednesday- scrappy pillowcase edition" (9)

  1. I only did one project using up some scraps.. I made the Easy Ripple Afghan, which looks pretty without being too complicate. It’s crocheted rather than knitted, but I’ve seen other pretty scrap-busting knitting patterns, or things like yoga socks, striped blankets, striped socks, door stoppers, mug cozies…
    in fact, I just realised that I made a draught stopper with various scraps (Cat Draft Stopper by Simplicity Pattern Company) too 🙂
    Apparently the Metalouse Shawl by Stephen West could also be made with scraps (free pattern: http://knitty.com/ISSUEw12/PATTmetalouse.php), and the famous Beekeeper’s Quilt..
    To avoid the cold sensation I got some flannel bed set for the cold times 🙂 I never thought of a wooly pillowcase.. sounds like a comfy thing to have… and helps reducing the left overs in the stash!

    • Ooh, I never thought of using anything other than cotton for bed sets! I will investigat this further! I’ve seen the beekeepers quilt, but really there are free patterns just as good! And I know myself well enough that I’d never get around the tying the hexagons together!

  2. I haven’t done many scrappy projects like that yet, I tend to use small balls of yarn for toys or mini projects. Usually though I just give my scraps away to my kids preschool Lol! Your pillow idea is great, hope it works out.

  3. Not sure about a woolly pillowcase, sounds nice and snugly but concerned it might aggravate my face?

  4. I’ve just finished a Scrappy Blanket for a Christmas present and crocheted the ends in as I went – I tend to do the same for knitting to save that laborious and thankless task at the end. Lovely idea to have a wool pillowcase though – I’d never have thought of that.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

