Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

Wow, what a wonderful reception to come back to! Thanks everyone!

Firstly, that picture I showed you last time is a giant slice of cake with eyes! The dark pink is jam between the layers of sponge, and the light pink is icing.

Secondly, I had a great time moving, and I now have a chest of drawers to hold all (most!) of my crafting supplies. Here’s a pic of it. (Usually that bag of yarn would be in it as well, I just needed to get at my crochet hooks!)

stash

The top drawer is misc and cross stitch, the other two drawers hold knitting yarn. Not all of it though, as you can see of what’s storied outside of the drawers! No more yarn for me for a while I think!

stash2

Not that that’s going to be too much of a problem, as I’ve started making my own! Meet John, my first drop spindle.

John

I’m completely loving spinning, although it makes my right arm ache if I do too much in one go! And of course, I’ve bought some fabric to make a cover for it! Even if I can’t use my mum’s sewing machine, so I’ll have to do it by hand! I’m thinking a simple bag made out of the blue fabric on top

fabric

I’ve also been knitting socks, and have 2 more finished pairs to show off, another pair of jaywalkers

Silvanissocks

and some rainbow socks I’m calling ‘Pooling, thy name is wtf’

poolingsocks

I’ve also started a scrap blanket to use up all my sock yarn scraps from socks. Can you recognise the yarns used so far?

blanket2

I’ve done more work on my knitted cardigan, but that totally deserves a post of its own, so that’ll come along later on! Another thing I can’t share just yet are Christmas plans- I’ve changed my mind about what I’m doing again, now it involves sewing. But I think that one of my friends is planning on reading this soon, and she’s getting a Christmas present, so that’ll need to be hush-hush until Christmas!

Although, speaking of Christmas, I have started sewing some Christmassy juggling balls, so here’s one ready to be stuffed!

juggle9

Comments on: "An update on everything(nearly…)" (11)

  1. Way to go! That knitting looks very interesting!!

  2. Cool socks and scrap blanket! 🙂

  3. Lots of projects on the go or planned – exciting stuff. A scrap blanket knitted in bits on dpns? How does THAT work??

  4. You’ve been so busy! Wow!

  5. You have been busy. The Jaywalker socks are my favourite 🙂 Mind they’re all fab. Just need to get my head around the blanket plan.

  6. How satisfying to be able to get your crafting things organized. I could never get the hang of spindle spinning. How did you learn?

    • One of the members of Knitsoc knows, and taught me one session. I use the ‘park and draft’ method, which means you don’t need to deal with drafting and spinning at the same time, making it much more manageable!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ever The Crafter

Chronically ill and crafting

Julia's Creative Year

my year of trying to be more creative in different ways

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Kick Arse Crochet

And other damned cool stuff!

Vix Knits... and crochets and sews...

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cables and Colours

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

craftandothercrazyplans

Trial and error-the best way to learn

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Dartmoor Yarns

Knitting on Dartmoor

IntrovertedKnitter

Fiber Artist and Introvert making her way through an Extrovert Centered World

sewingbutterfly

Cross-stitch Project Progress and Random Life Updates

FogKnits

Yarn Collecting and Occasional Knitting

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

The 2nd 35 Years

Stirring the Pot Since 1978

